The First Entry

I didn’t want to come up with some title for this that I’d end up changing three times before I’m done writing this.
I thought I’d start off with a little general information about myself. It has not quite been a month since I’ve started down this natural path. I’ve always tried to be green by being as gas efficient as possible, recycling, and buying organic when I can afford it. About that time I started going to my local Whole Foods once a week. We have not started shopping there regularly for two reasons: 1) we are not sure how much we can afford to replace by getting at Whole Foods and 2) the nearest Whole Foods is 5.6 miles away, much farther than Wal-Mart and Giant Eagle. I’m hoping we’ll be changing that soon.
I am using natural cleaners in the bathroom. We live with friends in their finished basement so there’s no kitchen to worry about. My cleaning list consists of baking soda, vinegar, borax, water, and Dr. Bonner’s Castile soap. So far it’s been totally successful. My plan is to replace the laundry detergent, dryer sheets, and bleaches as they run out. It saves money, which we don’t have much of, and uses up what we’ve got.
Which leads me to the third step I’ve taken. I am working towards going no-poo. No-poo is a shampoo free lifestyle. No-poo doesn’t mean not washing your hair. It simply is a different way of cleaning one’s hair. Dermatologists even say that we should only wash our hair three times a week at the most. No-poo uses baking soda instead of shampoo and an acidic rinse. This is better for your scalp. I’ll go into detail in a later post.

I am hoping to do more in the future. One thing is to start buying more sustainable and reusable products. I have a long list of things I want to buy from ReusableBags.com including produce bags to replace all those flimsy plastic bags they provide at the grocery store. They are recycleable, but there are so many times that they’re in no shape for recycling by the time I’m done with them. Buying more organic and natural products, mainly from Whole Foods, including personal care items.

Leave a Reply

