Inspirational Blogger strikes again!

Today I was sitting at work after getting all the work done, and felt like checking to see what Bonzai Aphrodite had up recently. It resulted in a few things. What can I say, she’s inspiring!
Her recent post went into further detail about hair dye and what is in the one she uses. That led me to Skin Deep: Cosmetic Safety Reviews. It gives you details and ratings of almost anything that you use on your body. I went through and looked at what I used to use, what I’m currently using, and what I want to start using. It’s made me reconsider buying a few products. Ideally, everything would have a rating of 0 or 1. Right now what I’m currently using is in the 5 and 6 range. The highest is 10, which you really don’t want to be using. It goes into detail about the chemicals used in the product. Possibly more detail than the label goes into, depending on the product. Burt’s Bees is what I was looking at using to replace a lot of things, but a lot of their products are in the 5 to 6 range. Now I’m going to see what Whole Foods has in the 0 to 1 range that I can afford.

Then I started looking at older posts, mainly her posts about groceries. Her posts about bulk food were making me want to order from ReusableBags.com even more. I am so looking forward to getting my produce bags. I’ve been setting the bags from the grocery store aside to recycle and there are a lot. And it’s only been a few weeks. So I’m going to start taking Green Bags with me to the store so we’re not using new ones every time and then adding the cloth bags once I get them. The next time I go to Whole Foods I’m going to see about using my own containers to get bulk foods in. I’m hoping to start buying in bulk as much as possible. It’ll be a lot easier when we have our own place though. Right now we don’t have a lot of space to be keeping a bunch of dry goods. But that will come in time. For now I’ll just do what I can, which is better than doing nothing!

Leave a Reply

