Meatless Thursday, October 1

Well, first Meatless Thursday done. Definately a success. But I wouldn’t say a big one.
Wednesday night I decided to make lunch up, because I knew I wouldn’t have time in the morning. So I went up, gathered the supplies I bought from Whole Foods and what I already had and made this: (click for larger image)

It is 1.25 lbs of veggie goodness with some tofu in there. In order there is romaine (red and green), baby spinach, cherry tomatoes, green peppers, mushrooms, silken extra firm tofu, avocado, carrots, and alfalfa sprouts. I managed to eat about half of it. And I didn’t even get down to the spinach and romaine. I’m not doing that again! I think I’m going to try a burrito next week. If that works out, that’ll probably be the MT lunch for a while.

Then there was dinner. Since I only used half of the avocado, the green pepper and the tofu, I needed to use the rest of it. So I chopped them up, added some mushrooms, snow peas, and cherry tomatoes. While those were simmering I boiled up some whole wheat macaroni elbows.

And I can’t forget about the dill. I love dill. It adds such a great buttery flavor without the butter. Once everything was done, I drained the pasta and threw it in with the rest and stirred it up. Toss it in a bowl, liberally top with feta, and here’s the result!

It was good. Again, a little too much food. But this time there were only a couple of forkfulls left instead of half. I think if I want to use tofu next time I should remember two things. First, don’t marinate it overnight in lemon juice! The lemon flavor overpowered everything and didn’t go well with the feta. Second, don’t be afraid to freeze extra tofu. I’ve heard it freezes quite well and helps it get even firmer for use in stir-frys.

So there you have it! The first Meatless Thursday. I learned a lot and am looking forward to doing it again next week.

Leave a Reply

