Shopping trip to Half-Price Books

Today after stopping at Whole Foods for a few things, I stopped at the Half-Price Books that’s just down the road on my way back home. Have I said before how much I love this store?
In case you don’t know, Half-Price Books is a bookstore that buys used books, music, magazines, and movies and then sells them for really good prices. They also sell overstock of new merchandise from bookstores and such for low prices. So it promotes reusing books and such that aren’t wanted for one reason or another and keeps them out of landfills a little longer. My husband and I have spent a lot of time and money at those stores. I have managed to replace all but two of one of my series of books with hardcovers at ridiculously low prices because of that store.
But anyway. I went in and looked in the usual places. When I got up to the food section I found a copy of Michael Pollan’s The Omnivore’s Dilemma and got it. He wrote this one before writing In Defense of Food. I’m given the impression it looks at food in a broader sense. I then finally found the section with the books like Green, Greener, Greenest. There I found and got Green Living for Dummies because it seems like a good book to have. I also found, for $10 (original price is $25), Cradle to Cradle.
For those of you who haven’t heard about this revolutionary book, allow me to explain. This book is revolutionary in two ways. The authors, William McDonough and Michael Braungart, discuss how most things, in the end, end up in a landfill. Recycling is mainly “downcycling” and in many cases create products that use as much energy and create as much waste as a new product made from new materials. They talk about making things so they can truely be reused over and over and over. Hence cradle to cradle. The other revolutionary part of this book is the physical book itself. It is a cradle to cradle product. It has been printed on material made from “plastic resins and inorganic fillers” by Charles Melcher who has been working to create many cradle to cradle products. If I remember correctly, this book can be taken, have all the ink removed from it and reprinted as a different book. Isn’t that amazing?! Once I’m done reading it I’ll be putting up a review of it.
I also saw a couple of books that looked really interesting but I want to read them before buying them. So I snapped pictures of them with my phone and will look them up at the library. I also picked up a couple of CDs that recplace a few downloads from my college days and a few that add to my collection outright.
When I got to the register, I got a plesant suprise. A few years ago they were giving away reusable bags when you bought at least $30 worth of books. We have four total, all free. 🙂 Of course I took one in with me and I was told that by using that bag they donated five cents to Keep Ohio Beautiful! This is a fairly new development as I know I’ve been in not too long ago and they weren’t doing that yet. So yet another store that is trying to encourage its customers to use reusable bags. Yay! Now if only Wal-Mart would do it. Although I’ve heard Target is doing something similar to Whole Foods. Maybe that’ll get WM going on it.

Leave a Reply

