Meatless Thursday, January 7, 2010

So I finally did the first Meatless Thursday of the new year! Since New Year’s Eve was a Thursday I knew it wasn’t going to happen. But I managed to pull it off yesterday!
I say pull it off because I am running low on meatless options at home. Lunch was simple: tomato soup, fruit leather, cheddar cheese curds, and water. But with all the snow and clouds and cold outside, it was a perfect meal.
Dinner took some thinking. I was thinking toasted cheese sandwiches and more soup. But I knew DH (darling husband) would be home and I didn’t have soup he’d want to eat. Or bread for that matter. So that was out. Then it hit me. He came home, I checked with him and he liked it. I had mashed potatoes loaded with sour cream, quesadilla cheese (it’s what we had shredded), and feta cheese, and a salad. He had plain mashed potatoes and a 1/3 lb angus beef patty. We both had California vegetables and garlic bread. The only reason he didn’t also have a salad was he’s out of dressing. I ended up not being able to eat everything, it was so filling! I’m just proud of myself to come up with dinner for the both of us with little separation.

Leave a Reply

