Finished! Bridget Jones’s Diary

On Saturday I did a bunch of reading. But the main accomplishment was finally finishing Bridget Jones’s Diary.
As I’ve mentioned before, I didn’t like this book all that much. About halfway through the book it finally started to pick up a little. The style of writing was really annoying me. The fact that she would leave out articles and words in order to make things shorter and how very and very good become v. and v.g. It really got on my nerves. I can understand it’s supposed to be a diary. But I’ve written many personal journals, read many fictional and non-fictional diarires. No one writes like that!!!
Another thing that got annoying is how she kept thinking about Daniel. How much she liked him and wanted him and thought he’d changed when you know that he’s still an ass. I mean, I understand that it was all about her changing herself and how she finally became confident in herself at the end. I can totally understand that. I guess it’s just how the author went about getting to that point.

There were times I could really understand what Bridget was going through. Especially with her mom. My mom is very similar. She used to try to take over my life and still thinks that she’s the only one who can ever be right. It is so annoying!
But there are other times I was going “What the hell are you thinking?!” aside from the whole Daniel thing. Mainly it was her eating habits. Granted, I just lost about 20 lbs in 4 months by counting calories and just not eating a ton. But even before then I wasn’t eating as much as she was on her high days. I just can’t understand how someone can eat so much in one day. So that probably didn’t help with trying to sympathize with the character.

In the end, I’m glad I read it. And I’m so glad I read it after I saw the movie. If I’d read the book and then seen the movie, I would have picked it to death and completely hated the movie versus my simple “eh” feelings toward it. Still, I’m glad I read it, but it’s definately not worth keeping.

Winter Book Challenge: Read a book where the main character goes through a major change or makes a resolution

One thought on “Finished! Bridget Jones’s Diary

Leave a Reply

