Finished! My Boring-Ass Life

I finally finished My Boring-Ass Life: The Uncomfortably Candid Diary of Kevin Smith at lunch on Friday! This isn’t the first time I’ve read this one (somewhere around 2nd or 3rd, leaning toward 3rd, time), but it’s still one of my favorite reads. Granted it is about my favorite filmmaker. There’s a reason why my movie blog is called Kevin Smith’s B*tch (my hubby-then-boyfriend dubbed me that after I was gushing over Clerks II I believe).
But, this book is a printed version of his online diary up to the point of publication. Most of it consists of him detailing everday life. Yes, for at least half of the book, each post begins with wake up, curse and let the dogs out, take a leak/shit. But if you can get past that part, it shows what a funny, loving, creative guy he is. Of course being a fan of his at all helps.
One thing that really leaps out at me through the book is how much he loves his women. He is constantly in amazement that his wife married him, but I can see why. While they do have their arguments like any other married couple does, he is totally devoted to her. When she’s sick, he runs out and gets what she needs. She has a girl’s night out, he drives her there and picks her up. It’s the same with his daughter. He loves spending time with her, even gets up early to do so and let Jen (wife) sleep in.
I found myself wanting to have something Kevin Smith related in the background when I’d be reading at home. I actually put in Catch and Release followed by Clerks II one Saturday mainly because those are the two flicks he works on for most of the book. Hell, reading the last part about his part in Live Free or Die Hard actually makes me want to see the flick. It’s the first time I’ve read it since actually seeing Die Hard and want to see if it lives up to the hype of the only worthy sequel.
But this book has actually motivated me to get up off my butt and really try to get my life going in the direction I want it to be going. Let’s see if it actually happens!

Winter Book Challenge: Read a book written in diary, letter, journal, or email form

Leave a Reply

