Meatless Thursday, February 4, 2010

Today was a sucessful day, food wise. I vented my frustrations over at my LiveJournal if you want to know how close I came to blowing up today. But, for a day where no food was planned, it went very well.

Lunch was up in the air almost until it came time for it. I had to run an errand and didn’t feel like trying to pack anything this morning. But I wasn’t sure what I’d be able to pick up that would be meatless. Then I remembered, I could pick up a cheese pizza from the Taco Bell/Pizza Hut. So the personal pan cheese pizza was lunch. I decided to save the breadsticks for dinner.
This is a prime example of why Americans are getting so overweight. My meal consisted of the pizza, two breadsticks, and a large pop. The “value meals” are so big and overdone anywhere you go now. I have to remember to order “small” sizes at BK and Wendy’s because instead of getting rid of their King and Biggie sizes they just labeled everything smaller so now a 21oz drink is a “small”. So frustrating!

Anyway, after my quick trip to Whole Foods, I was able to get dinner. I had the breadsticks from lunch with a can of Whole Foods’ amazing cream of mushroom soup. I’ve said it before and it’s still true, this soup is amazing! It’s the best cream of mushroom I’ve ever had! It’s not heavy but it’s still creamy. Beautiful slices of mushrooms float around instead of the tiny cubes you’d normally find. A wonderful soup for those mushroom lovers like me.

I do want to get back to at least making an amazing dinner for myself on Thursdays. Who knows, something may inspire me. Although, I have gotten a little inspiration from reading The Reluctant Tuscan and I’m going to be reading Under the Tuscan Sun soon. Maybe I’ll make up an amazing, meat-free Tuscan-inspired dish next week.

Leave a Reply

