Meatless Thursday, February 11, 2010

Another week, another Thursday. This week I was reading a book, Doomwyte by Brian Jacques, and reading about the characters meals helped me figure out lunch today. The characters in the Redwall series are all animals. The good guys consist of mice, squirels, hares, otters, moles, shrews, badgers, and some birds. They tend to eat fruits and veggies and breads and cheeses and make up wonderful sounding dishes. Well, reading about them passing around soups and crusty breads and wedges of cheese made me hungry. So I decided to have a small Redwall feast of my own.

I was already thinking of having the soup before inspiration struck. Yesterday I decided to stop by Wal-Mart after work to pick up the rest. I got a loaf of a crusty Italian bread and some mozzarella pearls. They compliment the soup so well.

Tonight after work I stopped by Whole Foods to get some groceries and figure out dinner. After much deliberation I simply decided to pick up some hearty pasta and some basil to use for dinner.

I chopped up some sun-dried tomatoes, mushrooms, and olives and sauteed them in olive oil. While they were cooking I had the pasta going. Just before I drained the pasta, I threw some basil and more olive oil on the veggies. Then I just mixed everything together and topped it off with a three cheese blend from Whole Foods which finished it off perfectly. With some of the wonderful bread on the side, it was a great dinner. 🙂

Leave a Reply

