Meatless Thursday, February 25, 2010

Well, this Thursday is turning out to be a lot like last Thursday. Last week I had picked up some interesting looking cheese from Whole Foods. It’s a strong cheese that goes well with bread or crackers. So I picked up some bread last night and had the cheese and cream of mushroom soup with it. It’s winter, soup always sounds good. A lot of the time I wish I could just make my own and can it, but I don’t have the space, tools, or time.
I also got a heap of veggies yesterday. Well, maybe not a heap, but an orange bell pepper, snow peas, and kalamata olives. Along with the sundried tomatoes and brown mushrooms, I’ve got a nice variety. I chopped them all up and sauteed them in some olive oil and added a decent little heap of dried basil. Then it all went over some Sedanini Rigate pasta. Topped with a little shredded cheese blend of asiago, parmesean, and romano, it was a wonderful dinner. I also had my first blood orange with dinner. I was planning on having it with lunch but I forgot to pack it. They are really good. Not too different than your average orange, but they’ve got a sweet aftertaste. It’s really nice.

Leave a Reply

