I’ve almost got the spring figured out!

Of course I mean the Spring Book Challenge. I found out on Monday that the 5, 10, and 15 point challenges were up. So I madly started figuring out what to read for each. As you can see on the page, I’ve got most of them figured out already. And, unlike Winter, most of them are books I haven’t read before.

My first step was looking over the list from winter and seeing what could fit from what I’m not going to be able to get to. I managed to place 8 of them. But the ones that aren’t placed are extremely long and I’m trying to avoid anything too long wherever possible this time around.

Then I scoured my to-read list over on Goodreads. That’s where I figured out most of the list from. There’s still a few challenges left blank. But they’re mostly very general and I have a lot of choices to fill them. I may leave them for the end to see what I still have to get read.

I’m also taking advantage of audio books this time around. Unless a page count is mentioned in the challenge, audio books are fine. And this way I can “read” books while I’m going to and from work and running around town. This weekend I have a bridal shower to go to that’s 1.5 hours away, so I’ll be working on finishing up Sula for the Winter Challenge. My only personal rule regarding audio books is that it has to be something that I would have to get from the library anyway. What’s the point in getting an audiobook out of the library when you own the book?

I’m a lot more confident about getting all the challenges I’ve picked out done this time around. Doing the Winter challenge has shown me how to strategize and where to place books if one has the choice. Looking back, I should have just used Bridget Jones’s Diary for the journal challenge instead of My Boring-Ass Life since it’s thinner. Oh well. You have to make mistakes to learn from them. Here’s hoping I can get all those books read in time this time!

Leave a Reply

