Finished! The Five People You Meet in Heaven

I have been extremely hesitant to read this book for years now. My mom bought it for me for Christmas a while ago and I’ve never really wanted to read it. But when I needed to read a book that’s been on a bestseller list in the past decade, I figured I might as well read it.

It is a really good book! I am pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed it. The way he goes through different aspects of his life and meets these different people who have been a part of his life in rather important ways, whether he knew it at the time or not, was definitely different than the usual way people portray heaven.

I managed to keep it together until the fourth person and this:

She stood and opened a door, and Eddie blinked as he entered behind her. It was a dimly lit room, with foldable chairs, and an accordion player sitting in the corner.
“I was saving this one,” she said.

I gasped when I read it and tears started up. I think it’s the most touching part of the entire book.

The fifth person totally caught me off guard, which, I suppose, is the point. But in the end, it seemed to be the person he needed to see the most. And I think where he ends up in Heaven is the best thing for him. It is a very touching book and makes you think about your relationships with others in a whole new way.

My husband has The Five People You Meet in Hell. I’m really looking forward to reading it. I usually am a fan of parodies, especially when they’re done well. I want to see what they do. Now if I can just fit it into a challenge…

Winter Book Challenge: Read a bestseller from the last decade (from any bestseller list 2000-2009)

Leave a Reply

