Buffy the Vampire Slayer: Season 8

For those of you who don’t know, after season 7 of Buffy the Vampire Slayer finished, Joss Whedon wasn’t done telling the story. Season 8 is a series of graphic novels that continue the story. I now have the first two!

The first book was given to me by my hubby who picked it up at Half-Price Books. He’s also the same one who got me into Buffy in the first place. Since I’m a big comic book geek, I wanted to see what Season 8 was like.
OMG is it good! Comic books are a much better medium for him because he’s got these great ideas that are limited by budget and what’s possible to film. The writing is great. If you, like hubby and I, think the peak of Buffy writing was season 4, you’ll love these. You do need to have seen the whole series to know what’s going on in general. But it is so worth it!

I’m not going to go into plot detail so as to avoid any spoilers.

Volume 2 made me happy with the return of Faith. I love where he’s taking her with this story. She slowly realizes that she needs to trust people more and how many people actually care about her. I love how Giles would throw out references without thinking about it and it would go right over her head. I am looking forward to seeing where these two are headed.

One thing I am enjoying about both books is that the last issue printed in each is a slight one-off from the rest of the story. The one in volume 2 was great and very serious. It’ll be interesting to see what comes of it.

I hate that I wrote so much, yet wrote so little. But I don’t want to give too much away. And I really do want to read the rest of the books and get caught up. Ah well, at least I was able to use one in the Winter Book Challenge.

Winter Book Challenge: Read a book with a red cover
Winter Book Challenge: Read a book with a woman as the main character

Leave a Reply

