Don’t Panic!

I just got done listening to The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy radio series again. I love that series! I think I may join my hubby in a yearly reading of the Trilogy. It’s just that awesome.

The other day I was wandering around Wikipedia and found out about Towel Day. Turns out that it’s also Geek Pride Day (which I think is no coincidence). I’ve decided that a towel can easily be worked into any outfit and will be participating in Towel Day.

Now I bet you’re wondering why I’m telling you all of this here. If you managed to hold on this long, you’re about to find out. When I get the time and money and insanity, I’m going to make myself a towel for use on Towel Day. There’s no way I’ll have it done for this year. But I’m hoping to have it done for next year. Also it’d work if I ever come up with a Fenchurch outfit to go with the possible Arthur Dent outfit of my hubby. I don’t know what the main color will be, but it will have DON’T PANIC! across the length and the thumb symbol down in the righthand corner.

I’m thinking of trying the insanity of knitting it. Hand towels are just too small. Yes, they’re easier to carry around. But they’re rubbish for staying warm under or sheltering oneself from the sun from or flagging down a spaceship. I may have to give up that idea and just get a towel and make a stencil or two and paint the stuff on. I don’t know if there are needles big enough to make a bath towel on. But I’m willing to try!

Towel Day - Don't Panic

3 thoughts on “Don’t Panic!

  1. Circular needles are your best friend, for knitting wide objects. *nods sagely*

    You know, I bet if you used a bulky yarn, and big needles, that would go by fairly quickly. I did a felted messenger bag, and, excepting the shape, it totally would’ve been big enough for a towel. And wool absorbs soooo much….. You’re welcome for the insane ideas. ;D

    1. Thank you! I was totally thinking in terms of size 8 needles and the usual yarn. As bulky as I can find it and nice big needles. That would make things easier. Thank you, devil on my shoulder. 😉

Leave a Reply

