Meatless Thursday, March 25, 2010

Lately my Thursdays haven’t been all that inspired. Soup, veggie sandwiches, pizza. Nothing really original. But not today! I’m reading Under the Tuscan Sun right now and one chapter is simply recipes. One of the recipes is peppers stuffed with ricotta cheese. I decided to give it a try.

Her recipe calls for green onions and other things that I don’t have and wouldn’t use all of in time. So I went with what I do have. I took 2 baby bella mushrooms and chopped them up. Add some ricotta cheese and basil and mix it all up. Fill up half a red pepper and put it in the oven for half an hour and you have the main part of today’s lunch. I also grabbed some bread and pineapple to round everything out.
It wasn’t bad. It reheated quite nicely in the microwave. I think it’s just too much cheese and not enough anything else. I was thinking of using quinoa in it as well, but I suck at making rice and they’re cooked the same way. Once I feel like unpacking, using, and packing my rice cooker I’m going to try that. Definitely a good start though. And really tasty for a first try.

Dinner was fairly simple. I took the other half of the pepper, a few mushrooms, kalamata olives, and sautéed them up with some garlic and basil and tossed in some pasta. Throw a little feta on afterwards and it’s perfect. I was thinking of doing the stuffed pepper again but with a lot more veggies. But I didn’t have time since I had practice last night. It was sooooo good. Oh, and I had some cantaloupe for dessert. Wonderful day food wise.

Leave a Reply

