The Taming of My Skin

Since the eighth grade I’ve had eczema. To put it simply, my skin gets extremely dry patches and gets really annoying. It seems to come up now when I get stressed. And lately, boy have I been stressed.

Until recently I’ve been using hydrocortisone. When it first started I had prescription strength, but after that I used the over-the-counter stuff. I knew there had to be a more natural alternative. I didn’t want to keep using that stuff. I had bought some Burt’s Bees Body Butter that was doing wonders for my dry skin elsewhere, so I tried it on my eczema. It worked for a bit, but then the butter wasn’t doing the trick.

I finally looked in the aisle at Whole Foods to see what they had for eczema. I found Brigit True Organics Magic Stick. It has been wonderful! I originally got one that was the size of a Chap-Stick. It allowed me to constantly have it with me so I could put it on whenever. When that ran out I got the bigger one (pictured on the right) because they were out of the small. It’s a little more bulky, but just as great.

But, a couple of weekends ago, it seemed to slightly fail me. My thumb has it the worst right now and it was starting to heal. But that weekend it all flared back up and didn’t get much better despite putting the balm on. When I got home I washed my hands thoroughly with Dr. Bronner’s tea tree oil soap and applied the balm since the soap is a bit drying. It was so much better the next day. So now I try to wash every once in a while with the soap and reapply the balm. It seems to be getting better, but I still am worried about how it’s doing.

Last Monday I was at Whole Foods and ran across Peaceful Mountain’s Eczederm Rescue. They had a tester out so I tried some. OMG! It was the closest I’ve come to hydrocortisone yet. It takes the itch away and soaks in so much faster than the balm. After thinking about it for a few days I decided to buy a tube.

I’m finding that alternating the Balm and Rescue is the best thing for the area on my thumb. It’s really made an impact on the other areas that are not nearly as bad, they’re pretty much just really dry skin. I am so glad to have finally found a natural way to get my eczema breakouts under control!

5 thoughts on “The Taming of My Skin

  1. Ugh. I think the eczema runs in our family. I’ve had it on my face, scalp, and in my ear canal for years, now. You’re lucky to have found something that works!

      1. Fingers can still be a pain. I’d had to think what it’d be like to have the flaking/peeling/bleeding/dryness on my joints. =[

      2. Oh trust me, it is. It’s not as bad as I think it would be on, say, the elbows. But it is a pain. Luckily it’s getting better! 🙂

Leave a Reply

