My Life: Diet – Food – Source

My Life: a geek's manifesto

Diet

Food

Source

Current: Mainly Wal-Mart with what Whole Foods I can afford
Goal: Completely from Whole Foods, farmer’s markets, and my garden with an emphasis on the farmer’s market and garden when it’s possible

Right now my husband and I are living with some very generous friends. We are trying to save what money we can so we can afford our own place and also trying to impose as little as possible on their life. Thusly we do most of our shopping at Wal-Mart and I don’t have a yard to start a garden in.

Slowly I have been buying what I can from Whole Foods instead of Wal-Mart. Sometimes it’s a little more expensive, but it’s a much better product. There are times that it is less at Whole Foods than at Wal-Mart or Whole Foods has something that Wal-Mart doesn’t. My hope is that soon we can start going to Whole Foods as well as Wal-Mart as part of our weekly grocery shopping. That will allow us to really start buying healthier products.

When we get our own apartment, chances are I still will not have a yard. But I’m not going to let that stop me. I am going to start container gardening like mad. Depending on space it could be as simple as the herbs I use the most in cooking (basil, dill, oregano, rosemary) to hanging plants and/or pots with tomatoes, peppers, and lettuces. The basic things that I tend to use quite a bit in my cooking.
In time we will have a house of our own with a yard. That yard is going to be a beautiful urban farm. I plan to have many plants around the yard allowing us to get as much of our vegetables, herbs, and fruits from our backyard instead of the market.

I consider myself quite lucky to be living in Columbus. There are a mulitude of farmer’s markets in the area. One of which I really keep meaning to go down to. The North Market has a farmer’s market every Saturday from, I believe, May to October. There are also businesses there that operate year-round that have wonderful organic and homemade products. My hope is that we will soon be able to afford to go shopping there once a week. It would be wonderful to have locally grown, fresh, ripe produce to work with and eat.

