My Life: Diet – Food – Portions

My Life: a geek's manifesto

Diet

Food

Portions

Current: Sometimes a little big, not consistently well-balanced
Goal: Properly sized portions and very balanced

When I was using SparkPeople to lose weight, I was doing a great job with portions. Mainly because I was counting calories. But I found myself fine with the appropriate portion size more and more. I’ve let myself slip. I had bought a food scale to measure out portions when it was described in weight (mainly meat) and it hasn’t been used in forever. Granted, it’s an analog scale that is hard to be really accurate with.

Also I was doing better about getting enough fruits, veggies, and grains. Not so much now. I’m letting the meat take up a little too much of the plate sometimes. Most articles and books you’ll read will say that a serving of meat is two to 3 ounces. When I first read that I thought, “Well there goes fast food”. So much of fast food’s portions are much more than what you need. I’ve let that slip a bit too.

I think what I’m going to do to get to my goal of eating the 2 cups of fruit, 2.5 cups of veggies, 6 servings of grains (with as much of that being whole grain as possible), no more than 5.5 ounces of meat, 3 servings of dairy, and my wonderful olive oil is to go back to habits I had while on SparkPeople. I’m going to invest in a digital scale and use it whenever I need to. The digital aspect will help me to stay motivated in using it. I’m also going to start up a food journal. It won’t be as detailed as it was on SparkPeople. But I don’t need it to be. I’ll just keep track of what I eat and their servings. That way I can see where I’m lacking and where I’m over and adjust as necessary.

Leave a Reply

