My Life: Personal Care – Hair and Body Care

My Life: A geek's manifesto

Personal Care

Hair and Body

I really can’t think of any reason to set any goals for this. I’m quite happy with where I am right now on both fronts.

As you already know I wash my hair using the No ‘Poo method. For those who don’t know, No ‘Poo is where you use natural methods to clean your scalp and hair. The main way of doing that is using a baking soda paste or solution to wash your scalp and hair. The baking soda combines with the oil on your hair and becomes slippery like soap. Some people have even managed to get a light lather going. After you rinse it out, you use an apple cider vinegar solution to rinse your hair and reacidify your scalp.
I usually use 1.5 teaspoons of baking soda to 1.5 cups of water and the same amounts for the apple cider vinegar and water rinse. I have been washing my hair this way for almost a year now and I love it. My hair has much more body than it ever has. I go 2 to 3 days without washing my hair and it doesn’t look worse than if I were to go 1 day without washing it before. Also it’s just that much less being rinsed into the wastewater system.

Hair coloring was the last thing to change. Back in December I used a more natural dye. But it was still a box of hair dye. Now I am a complete henna convert. It helps that I like red hair to begin with and it’s almost the perfect shade. Henna is simply a crushed plant. Strait henna will always result in red hair, that’s it. Other plants are added to it to change the resulting color. Henna also differs in how it changes one’s hair color. Unlike dyes, which coat, henna penetrates and permanently stains your hair. It’s wonderful. It strengthens and permanently changes the hair that it touches. All I have to do is worry about roots from here on!

That’s all I use on my hair. I’ve never been big on styling products since my hair refuses to do anything but be straight. So I just keep it clean and let it be itself.

Dr. Bronner's Lavender Liquid Soap
Dr. Bronner's Lavender

Body care is almost as simple. In the shower I simply use a bit of Dr. Bronner’s Liquid Castile Soap on a washcloth. Sometimes I’ll add a little of the Tea Tree Soap for an extra kick, but I don’t need anything else. I do use the occassional baking soda body scrub made from 3 teaspoons of baking soda, 1/2 teaspoon of water and 1/2 teaspoon of Tea Tree Soap. It does feel really really good.

I have a variety of lotions and such for various body parts. All of which are Burt’s Bees. I have body butter, hand lotion, and body lotion. They are all wonderful for moisturizing. I even used the body butter on my eczema for a while before it became clear that it had gotten past that helping.

Speaking of eczema, I have a set regimen for taking care of it. I use the Brigit True Organics Magic Stick most of the time. It’s a wonderful moisturizer. I even slather it on at night and put on cotton gloves to let it work overnight. This has made a huge difference in the eczema. I wish I could run around with gloves on all day, but they’d get dirty and I’d get tired of it. I also use the Peaceful Mountain Eczederm Rescue when it gets really itchy. I use it once or twice a day. Then I put the Magic Stick on afterwards to get it again.

That’s it. I’ve managed to be completely natural and organic when it comes to my hair and body care. Yay!

4 thoughts on “My Life: Personal Care – Hair and Body Care

  1. Good for you for getting no ‘poo to work! I had felt a bit disappointed that I was still washing my hair every 2 to 3 days after being no ‘poo since the beginning of January, but since that’s been your experience too, maybe it’s just par for the course.

    I recently started using diluted Dr. Bronner’s instead of a strong bar soap. I like it!

    1. I was worried too about the frequency, but I’ve seen a lot of others talking about washing every 2 to 3 days and they’ve been doing it for years. I think it just depends on your scalp.

      Isn’t Dr. B’s wonderful?! And you can use it for so many things. I love it.

  2. Are you able to make up a sizable batch of the baking soda paste in one go, or do you make up the baking soda and ACV mixtures before each shower?

    I’m moving towards this route, however slowly, and trying to get all of my logistics down!

    1. I usually just make them up when I shower. But I have seen people make up enough to last them a week at a time. I just find it more convienient to make it up when I need it.

Leave a Reply

