Book challenges: ending and beginning

Yesterday was the last check-in for the Spring Book Challenge. I managed to get 315 out of 425 points and I’ll mention where I placed once it’s posted. Only 6 books went unread and, according to Goodreads, I’m 47% of the way through Mockingbird: A Portrait of Harper Lee. That means I can count it for the Summer Book Challenge. I’ll have to do some looking to see where I can slide it in. If I can’t, oh well. I didn’t get the SBC done, but I came pretty damn close.

My plan for the Summer Book Challenge (SuBC) is a lot more relaxed than that for the SBC. I’m still going to keep track of points and such. I also have quite a few of the tasks already planned. But I don’t care how much I do this time. My goal is to just read. Just read whatever I want to read and not worry about how it fits into the challenge. If it fits in, great. If not, oh darn I get to read a good book.

There’s going to be a lot of manga and graphic novels, mainly because I have a lot of manga and graphic novels that I want to read. Luckily they fit into those tasks. I’m also planning on fitting in books from The Dresden Files where I can because we’ve been acquiring the audiobooks and they’re so wonderful to listen to. Also since I know the stories already, if I miss a few words while I’m at work it won’t require me to rewind and figure out what I missed.

Some of the tasks I know I’m not going to be able to do or bother with. Most of the 25 point challenges I’m not going to try. I love how challenging they are. But I can’t think of anything off the top of my head that would fit into them. I’m also not going to read any of the book club picks as they don’t appeal to me.

Like I said, I’m taking a much more casual approach to this challenge than the previous ones. It is nice. I don’t have to worry about trying to get all the books read in time or get the books period to be able to read. I’m probably going to start in on the graphic novels and manga soon, so there’ll probably be a steady stream of posts. 🙂

Leave a Reply

