You’re only as old…

Act Your Age by Kevin Spear
(c) Kevin Spear

Everyone knows that saying, “You’re only as old as you feel”, right? I totally agree with it. This weekend we spent some time with my husband’s cousins and their kids. At one point we went swimming and I was called a grown-up and an adult in the same breath. My response was “I am not!”

I am almost 27. It boggles my mind every time I think about it. I don’t feel that old. I couldn’t put an exact number on how old I do feel, but it’s younger than 27. I only believe in acting your age to an extent. I will grant as a grown person, especially one that has been through college, I need to be responsible for my actions and I should be polite and such. But there are certain things that I still enjoy that most people think I shouldn’t because I’m an adult.

For example, I love to stay up late playing games, watching movies, and just hanging out with friends. Granted, because I have to be up so early during the week for work, I don’t stay up like I used to in college. But I’ll stay up until at least 2am on the weekends. One of my favorite things is reading graphic novels and comic books and manga. That usually suprises people, well that and the fact that I’m female.

The Amazing Spider-Man issue 500
The Amazing Spider-Man issue 500 ( (c) Marvel Characters, Inc.)

It seems that if a female likes comic books, it’s strange. I’d like to know why. I understand that when comics started out they were aimed toward boys. But it’s been a long time since then. Why do we still have set things in our society that dictate that because you this gender and/or this age you aren’t allowed to do/like this?

Many people would respond with, “It isn’t normal”. Well, I hate the word “normal”, and I don’t use hate very often. I learned in college while working on a paper for a Disability Studies class that the word “normal” came from carpentry terms for something that is square and solid. I think that “normal” is a horrible word. I prefer to use average instead, because that’s what people usually mean.

So in regards to age and gender I tend to go against the average person. There are plenty of times that I find men’s clothes more comfortable than women’s. Women’s clothes can be way too close fitting and short at times, while men’s are a bit roomier and longer. And length is really important when you’re tall like myself. I learned in college from a roommate to forget about what others think about how you look or what you do and be yourself. I find myself lucky enough to have found someone to spend the rest of my life with who loves that I am like that and friends that agree with that as well.

This has gone in a very different direction than where I thought it was going. But I feel good putting this out there. Physically I am an almost 27-year-old female, but in reality I am me. ::steps off the soapbox::

Leave a Reply

