Mockingbird’s everywhere

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

Right now I’m reading Mockingbird: A Portrait of Harper Lee. It’s the only biography of the author of my favorite book. It’s really good and has me wanting to read To Kill a Mockingbird when I’m done.

Today I saw a link to the following article on The Nest Book Club board. 50 Years On, ‘Mockingbird’ Still Sings America’s Song is about how Mockingbird is still popular and relevant today. They go into some of the history of the book and of the author. It really makes me appreciate the book I’m currently reading. She’s a very private person, hence just the one biography.

Reading the article not only makes me want to read the book even more, but it reminds me of what I did my sophomore year of high school. In English class we did book reports. One of the rules was not to do a book that has a movie based on it, or vice versa. But I really, really wanted to do To Kill a Mockingbird, and as you probably know there’s a movie based on it. I went to my teacher and told her I wanted to read it. I told her that the movie is one of my Dad’s favorites and while he owns it I haven’t watched it and wouldn’t watch it until after I’d read the book and done the book report. Thankfully she believed me and let me do it. I’m sure it bored most of my class, but I was so happy to be able to do it. It’s one of my favorite memories from high school.

I guess the whole point of this post is to express my joy at how popular and relevant my favorite book still is today. There should be a post soon about the biography. Probably not long after that will be a post about Mockingbird since it’s always been a book I’ve had trouble putting down. 🙂

Leave a Reply

