Unsafe air?

EPA Air quality Index
EPA Air Quality Index
For the second day in a row, that I know of, our air quality is in the Unhealthy for Sensitive Groups range, orange on the index. The fact that it’s hot and muggy shouldn’t push the quality up there. I can only hope that I haven’t been roaming around in the Moderate levels without knowing.

But that all got me to thinking. My first thought was of determination to keep up the hypermiling I’ve been doing. For the last couple of tanks of gas I’ve been able to get around 190 miles for half a tank, which is around 6 gallons as far as I can tell. Before I was getting 150. I’m not sure what I’m doing different, but I intend to change nothing. Whenever it is apparent I will not be accelerating and/or stopped for at least 10 seconds, the engine gets turned off. Having a manual definately makes it easier, because going into neutral is so easy!

My second thought was I need houseplants! We’ve been keeping the windows and patio door shut, but airflow still occurs when the door outside gets opened. I want to keep the air in our place as clean as possible. Unfortunately by the time I can afford to go plant shopping, it’ll easily be fall. I’m still going to get some, but I know the bulk of my buying will have to wait for next year. But that’s probably a good thing because it gives me time to do research and to work out how many plants will be needed. Also knowing where they’re going to go helps too. 🙂

Keep trying to make sure your emissions are as low as humanly possible. Maybe, one of these days, enough of us will be doing it to really start turning the tide!

4 thoughts on “Unsafe air?

  1. Keep trying to make sure your emissions are as low as humanly possible. Maybe, one of these days, enough of us will be doing it to really start turning the tide!

    Good idea. Thanks for the thought.

Leave a Reply

