Meatless Thursday, August 12, 2010

I had an unexpectedly wonderful Meatless Thursday yesterday. After waking up late due to alarm clock issues, I didn’t have time to pack a lunch. So I decided to splurge and go to Chipotle and get a Fajita Vegetarian Burrito. I came close to finishing it, but it just wasn’t going to happen.

When I got home I was torn between a few ideas. But making a grilled cheese sandwich and a salad won. But this isn’t just any toasted cheese sandwich. I used two slices of Whole Food’s Seeduction bread, a slice of swiss, and about a 1/4 cup of Kraft Mexican cheese blend, along with four slices of vine ripened tomato. Each slice of bread had half a slice of swiss topped with half the Mexican cheese. Then the tomato went in between. The bread was buttered with garlic butter. I let both sides go for a while in the pan, but the cheese just wasn’t melting. So I tossed it in the microwave for 30 seconds. The cheese was wonderfully gooey, the tomatoes were hot and wonderful, and the bread was crisp and garlicky. It was amazing. This may become my default grilled cheese. I’ll have to see how it works with other breads because the Seeduction works well for it, and not bad for my lunches, but I’m not sure about making it a permanent bread.

3 thoughts on “Meatless Thursday, August 12, 2010

  1. That sounds like a really good grilled cheese sandwich! Garlic butter and tomatoes, huh.

    I remember when I first became a vegetarian, how hard it was to find things to eat. My whole food paradigm had to shift. Good for you for trying to think outside the box once a week!

Leave a Reply

