High Temps and Low Quality

Enjoying the weather? Staying cool? I will admit that when I’m at work, in my car, and at home, I am thankful for air conditioning. Lately the temperatures have been in the 90s and the humidity has also been high. That combination results in air quality alerts. And those make me, and hopefully others, more aware of my driving. There have been times lately that I really don’t want to turn my car off at lights because I want to keep my air conditioning running. But on Saturday I realized that a little discomfort is worth it to help keep the air a little cleaner.

I had a few errands I needed to run, but they were all over the place. So I simply went to the farthest place first and worked my way back home. There were quite a few red lights, and of course I turned my car off. Sitting there I looked around and wondered how much fewer emissions would be going into the air if everyone else around me also turned their cars off. In the grand scheme of things, I’m sure it’s not that much. But every little bit helps.

Later my hubby and I went to see a movie but decided on going to Half-Price Books instead because of the lines. But on the way home, via highways as usual lately, I stopped to get gas because I was getting low but mainly because it was starting to get dark. If I remember correctly, 5pm is usually the hottest point of the day. So waiting even just an hour after that to fill up helps reduce air pollutants. I’m sure I’m rambling at this point, but it was on my mind on Saturday. Luckily that evening, while we were driving around, it was raining and things have cooled off a bit. But I still use my Ecomodder tips to help get some amazing gas mileage.

One thought on “High Temps and Low Quality

Leave a Reply

