I <3 Dragon*Con! (Part I)

In case you didn’t already know, my husband and I went to our first Dragon*Con this year! It was my first convention ever. OMG was that amazingly fun! Dragon*Con is held over Labor Day weekend in downtown Atlanta, Georgia. It is the largest mulitgenre convention run by fans for fans. You can tell that a lot of work and love goes into the convention. Being such a well-rounded geek, I found myself torn many times as to what to go do.

The t-shirt given to blood donors.
Awesome thank you for donating blood, isn't it?

Thursday, September 2
We drove down and arrived at the Sheraton for registration around 2p. It took 2 hours in line, but we got our badges! I decided to wear my SG-C uniform (details will be up soon on Big Damn Crafter) for the wait in line and the randomness afterward. After getting our badges I got right in line to give blood. It has become tradition at Dragon*Con to have a blood drive going every day of the four day convention and on the day before while people are registering and picking up their badges. Their goal this year was to get 3,000 people to donate. I have no doubt that they surpassed that goal. Of course, the awesome t-shirts they were giving out to donors probably helped.

Once I got done, we decided to go in search of some of our roommates, now our friends. They were friends of my hubby’s online, but we hadn’t met them in person yet. They got there much later than we did and ended up in the very long line that was wrapping the block. We stood and walked and talked with them for a while. Eventually we headed over to check out sign-ups for the gaming for the weekend. Lesson #1: Go to the gaming immediately after getting badges. All the RPGs we wanted to check out were full. We were both really looking forward to getting to play the new Dresden Files RPG, but we definitely weren’t the only ones.

Since there wasn’t much else to do, and I had given blood, we decided to get ourselves over to the hotel and get everything inside. Considering we each had two bags, the cooler, bags for use at the con, the air mattress, and my laptop, and I couldn’t really carry anything, we ended up being very grateful to the bellhop. Somehow eight of us shared a room successfully. Eventually people trickled in and we chatted for a bit while we all got settled. It turned out that I wasn’t the only one participating in the parade on Saturday morning, which was awesome. But, before we get to that, there’s still Friday. And that will be for another day. 🙂

One thought on “I <3 Dragon*Con! (Part I)

Leave a Reply

