Stop and think

I just read a blog post over on Talk About Equality. It’s about yet another young gay person who took their own life this week and how we need to not treat this people like another number. It gave me two thoughts: first, you should go read it; second, it made me think of what I’ve gone through.

I’m not gay, but that doesn’t mean I haven’t been bullied. I have always been a quiet, shy person. Just the type of person who seems to attract bullies. Because we moved so much, I had been in my 4th school by the time I was in 7th grade. Being the new person never helped. Especially in a small class that was very close. There were times I was coming home every day with some story of what they’d done to me. It was mainly three boys. One day at recess they had pushed me back into one of the trash cans. Some 8th graders came over, helped me up, and took me in to see the principal to tell him what had happened. They never touched me again, but that didn’t stop the verbal assault.

The next year myself and two of them were in marching band. As 8th graders we had about 15 min between the end of school and the start of practice to change and/or get a quick snack. Our favorite place to go was the Domino’s to get breadsticks. I was sitting there with my breadsticks one day when one of them came up to me and asked if he could have one. I said no. He said if I gave him one he’d make sure the other two would stop bullying me. I gave him one just so he’d go away, never thinking he’d actually do it. Well, he did. Unfortunately he went to a different high school the next year, but I am still grateful to him for what he did.

I guess the reason why I’m writing this is that in some way, I do sympathize with them. I have never had thoughts of ending it all, thankfully. When I got to college I found myself fitting in more and becoming more sure of myself. Just stop and think about what you say to someone. I’m not saying that you should become the most PC person in the world. But it might hurt their feelings and affect them in ways you don’t know.

Leave a Reply

