FBC Epiphany

I’m looking at the books I still have left to read on the FBC and, realistically, I don’t think I’m going to get them all read by the end of the year. I think I can get through most of them. But I’m not to sure about the How-to challenge and Dracula.

Right now I’ve got Guitar for Dummies picked out, but it’s going to take a lot of time to be able to sit and read and play. I’m just not sure what else to read for it. I may just go ahead and find a canning book. I’m hesitating to do it because I saw another member used Canning for Dummies for it and I don’t want to seem like I’m just copying them. But I really do want to learn how to can. So maybe if I get a different book, which I probably would anyway, I’d feel better about doing it.

Dracula is just one of those books that I keep meaning to read, but am dreading it at the same time. ‘Classics’ really just don’t appeal to me. I’m more than willing to read Pride and Prejudice and Zombies but wouldn’t want to read the original. So while I do want to read the original story of Dracula, the fact that it’s a ‘classic’ is keeping me from really looking forward to reading it. It’s so frustrating!

And I just realize that my definition of a ‘classic’ is strange. I have no problem with the prospect of reading Mrs. Dalloway, Heart of Darkness, and The Great Gatsby. Maybe it’s just when it was written. I don’t know. Maybe I’ll finally get into Dracula and be more interested in ‘classics’.

Leave a Reply

