Fall Food Festival

It’s fall, which means cold weather, warm clothes, and fall foods! Lately I’ve been a lot more into the idea of having soups instead of sandwiches for lunch. I just need to go and buy some that taste good. Thursday I packed a can of Campbell’s Select Harvest Creamy Potato with Roasted Garlic. Something about it just didn’t taste right, and it was a little flat on taste. I couldn’t finish it. I felt bad throwing it out, but it just didn’t seem like a good thing to finish. So personally, I’m going to avoid Campbell’s. I’ll stick with Whole Foods’ brand and Amy’s Kitchen. They haven’t let me down yet. I really want to make up a big batch of chili, but there’s so many ingredients to get and I have to find what looks like a good recipe to start from. Trust me, there will be a post when I manage to make my chili.

But I’ve also been taking advantage of the wonderful foods that have come into season. I bought myself some wonderful butternut squash and simply steamed it the other day to have with dinner and it was wonderful! I just need to cut some of the bigger pieces down so they’ll all cook the same, but it was great for a first try! I keep looking at different foods when I go to Whole Foods for inspiration. But what I really want to do is just get a bunch of roots (carrots, beets, potatoes, turnips) and some squash and just roast it all. It sounds soooo good, but I’m pretty sure that my hubby doesn’t like a couple of those things, definitely the squash. And I don’t want to get all of that and be the only one eating it. But I keep varying up my veggies and enjoying them. It’s so much fun!

Stay green!

Leave a Reply

