Finished! Maus I: My Father Bleeds History

Volume one of Maus by Art Spiegelman
Maus I: My Father Bleeds History by Art Spiegelman

Wow. I just finished Vol. I of Maus and it really is amazing what survivors went through. He talks about being a successful business man, marrying his wife and having a son. All of that good happens and then the Nazis come into power. They start having to make sure they have the correct papers. Then they’re moved into smaller and smaller accommodations. The elderly are taken away and never seen again. People with too many children are rounded up. Eventually they have to hide themselves to avoid being sent off to the camps.

 

I can’t imagine what it was like constantly worrying about getting caught or being killed just for being Jewish. It’s almost unbelievable that this really did happen. But there’s too much proof to not believe it. It is hard to understand why someone would go to such lengths to kill so many people just because of their religion. And what’s even more sad is that it’s still happening today. All around the world people are fighting wars and getting killed over religion, among other things. “This has all happened before, and it will happen again.” When will we learn from history and stop repeating it?

2 thoughts on “Finished! Maus I: My Father Bleeds History

  1. I recently read and reviewed Maus too. Because of the subject matter, I’d been avoiding it for a long time. I was happily surprised at how readable it was. It was easy to read (I couldn’t put it down), yet hard to read at the same time, because I knew what happenes at the end.

    “When will we learn from history and stop repeating it? ”
    probably the most important lesson of all, but also the most ignored. sad, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

