No Impact Man

Colin Beavan wrote No Impact Man after his year of living with no impact on the environment was done. It’s not a book version of his blog. It includes entries from his blog, but it also allowed him to reflect on that period and put more into it than what he might have simply wrote every day.

I think it is a wonderful book! As someone who has been trying to keep a low impact, I found myself questioning that level many times over the course of the book. Early on in the book, and the experiment, I found myself panicking that I wasn’t doing enough. But luckily I kept reading and that feeling subsided. It has made me take a harder look at my life and given me some perspective to look at it and see what could be strengthened and what is as good as I can make it right now. I’m probably going to go into more detail about it over on my green blog or else I’ll just be repeating myself.

I would recommend this book to anyone who is trying to live a life that leaves less of an impact on the environment. I do agree with him that most people cannot live a no impact life. He and his family are lucky enough to be living in New York City where they can get around by foot and are close to shopping and farmers’ markets. Also he has a job where he doesn’t have to be at work from 8 to 5 every day during the week. But there are a lot of things that they did that anyone can incorporate into their lives. Totally worth a read. I think this is going to become a yearly read for me. 🙂

One thought on “No Impact Man

  1. Pingback: World Spinner

Leave a Reply

