Costuming inspiration, part I

I feel bad that I haven’t posted here in a while. I’ve been madly knitting away and have finished a few things. I swear I’ll have posts up for them soon. But the thing that has been on my mind is cosplay!

I’ve been jotting down notes in my Cosplay.com journal because I can access it at work. But then I finally remembered how useful notepads are. 😉

I’ve been getting all sorts of crazy ideas for costumes for Dragon*Con this year. Whether I get them all done is another question. I’m bringing Jane Lane again. I just have to do a little tailoring on my red shirt because, evidently, it’s a maternity shirt. So I need to take the sides in a bit so it hangs properly on non-maternity me.

But the costume I’ve made the most progress on is Miho Tohya from Megatokyo! I was originally going for the polesitting look (pictured). But then I looked closer at her top and realize that I’m not going to be able to get my costume to look like that without a lot of work. So instead I’m basically doing a closet cosplay. I have a black top, boots, and armwarmers that are quite Miho. At Halloween I found some purple and black striped tights to wear, although I’m a little worried about them since I haven’t tried them on yet. On Monday the wig arrived! It’s the perfect color, but needs some real styling work. I have to cut in the bangs and do some shortening, but the important thing is the color. You wouldn’t believe how hard it is to find a wig in that shade of purple. Most are too light, too dark, too pink, or too blue. I can’t wait to get working on it and show it off!

The other costume that’s getting a lot of attention is my redo of the Tenth Doctor’s tux. A friend sent me a wig that’s going to work wonderfully, I just have to darken it a bit to get the color right. The style is perfect! Everything’s combed forward on top and is the right length. I’ll just need to do some trimming on the sides and back. I’m hoping to be able to add some sideburns to look even better. The big hang up that has come up is the tux itself. Turns out that it actually is a tux. Not that many tuxes end up at thrift stores. I may end up having to eBay it and hope for the best.

One last thing and then I’ll go away. I found out that I need an essential piece of undergarments to properly pull off some costumes. I’m going to get a compression shirt. I’ve found one that a lot of crossplayers use successfully. It makes the boobs disappear much better than the Ace bandage, and allows for breathing! That was one problem I had last year with the Ace, it hurt to breathe sometimes. But if I wrapped any looser, the boobs weren’t very disguised. So I’m going to, hopefully, be able to crossplay much better with the shirt. Yay!

One thought on “Costuming inspiration, part I

Leave a Reply

