Finished! Deathly Hallows

I am going to say this now: If you haven’t read the book, don’t keep reading. I’m not going to try to keep from spoiling the book. If I did, all I could say was “It’s an amazing book. A great end to the story.” But there’s so much more!

You have been warned.

Harry Potter and the Deathly HallowsThere really needs to be a warning on this book: Don’t read without tissues nearby! I knew they were coming and it still hit hard. I love all the detail she goes into. So much of it got lost in the movies. I love how Mrs. Weasley treats Harry like one of her own. He gets to have the 17th birthday party he deserves. And he gets to celebrate before all hell breaks loose.
I love the time they spend…wait. I forgot. I love the scene at the beginning as the Dursleys are leaving. Dudley has matured so much since the beginning. Even Petunia seems to have softened a bit.
I love the time they spend at Grimmauld Place. harry gets to learn so much about Sirrius and his parents. They even treat Kreacher nicely and he becomes so helpful. It’s really sweet.
The conversation between Harry and ron after destroying the Horcrux was great. “I love her like a sister” is right on and I honestly don’t know how Ron couldn’t see that.
The whole scene at the Malfoy’s was amazing. The entire fight scene was so well done! So full of details. And Doby. Poor Dobby.
Poor Snape, too. I forgot how long he had known Lily. He led such a perfect double life. No one thought he was the good man he really was. I am really looking forward to seeing Alan Rickman in those scenes.
I love the chapter with Dumbledore. The way he and harry get to have that last conversation. The way Dumbledore maintains his humility despite being proven right is wonderful. And the way Harry simply uses the stone for comfort and guidance as he goes to face his death.
Possibly the best scene was the final showdown between Harry and Voldemort. The way that the majority of the fight was with words. And even the words were mainly Harry disarming and wearing down Voldemort. The finishing tough of Harry’s only spell being to disarm was perfect. It was a great way to end it.

In the end, it was a wonderful way to end the saga. I did like that she included the years later so we can all see how it works out. Wonderful way to end it.
______________________________________________________________________

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling

Rating: 5 stars

WBC: Read a book with 500+ pages.

One thought on “Finished! Deathly Hallows

Leave a Reply

