The Weekly Green I

Well, here goes nothing!

This week hasn’t been all that remarkable. I sorta slipped a bit on the eating thing by going with fast food for lunch most of the week. Sadly, that’s what happens when what you buy for lunch doesn’t quite work out the way you want to. My Thursday did work out really well, as I already posted about. I never thought adding the corn salsa would have made that big of a difference!

Today’s really had the most green. This morning I did my weekly errands, and it was quite green. One of my first stops was a little disappointing. I needed some…feminine supplies and I prefer to use Seventh Generation. Whole Foods doesn’t carry them anymore, and what they do carry, I just don’t have faith in. But the Raisin Rack, a local natural grocery store, does carry Seventh Generation’s supplies. Unfortunately, they didn’t have them in stock today. And, even worse, there’s less shelf space for it. At this rate I’m going to have to start ordering it online! Ugh.

Then I headed over to Plato’s Closet to do a little shopping. I love buying second-hand! Then I finally headed over to Whole Foods. I love that store so much! Unfortunately, when I went to check out, I was disappointed, for the first time ever, by the cashier. I brought in one of my Whole Foods bags, which would have fit everything in comfortably. But she divided everything up between it and a paper bag! A paper bag! I was so upset. I’m just going to have to make sure not to go to her ever again. I don’t know how many cashiers there have said how awesome the reusable bags are and how much they hold. And she goes and does that. Ugh.

It’s sorta sad how someone that wants to be green and live well may have to buy things online to do so. In addition to the Seventh Generation products, there’s another product I have yet to find on store shelves. Kashi sells their Seven Grain and Sesame Pilaf by the box. I love that stuff in their frozen entrees and I know I couldn’t do something like that myself. But if I can’t find it on the shelves, my only option is online. It’s a little depressing to think about the carbon emissions that will be involved in getting that to me. But if I order more at one time, instead of less over multiple times, that would help a bit. And obviously I’d keep looking for them in stores.

Oh, I just remembered something great from Sunday! I went to Half-Price Books and got quite the haul. I picked up The Discworld Graphic Novels for my hubby, a hardcover edition of Angel: After the Fall Vol. 1 (!!!!!!!), and a few other books. Unfortunately the day before I sorta slipped up in my “not buying anything new that can be bought used” rule for myself. I was at the Cleveland Museum of Natural History with my hubby and his parents, and I sorta bought a couple of books in the gift shop. I’m sure I could have found them used somewhere else, but I had paid for them and was reading the introduction to one before I remembered that. I’m just going to have to work harder to remember not to buy anything new!

Hopefully I’ll be able to do better this week. I’ve already made a step in buying something from Whole Foods that should help out my lunch issue, which is not only healthier but will save me more money!

Have a green week!!

Leave a Reply

