Finished! Dead Until Dark

Dead Until Dark by Charlaine HarrisDead Until Dark is the first book in The Southern Vampire Mysteries, which the TV show True Blood is based on. I’ve heard so much about the series that I figured I should check it out. There are spoilers in this post, so if you know nothing about the series and want to read it, don’t keep reading!

…it was an interesting book. Not bad, but I doubt I’m actually going to read it or any of the other books. I realize that it is the first book in a series and there’s a lot to set up. But I’ve read much better first books. I figured out that Sam was a werewolf/shape-shifter fairly soon after she realized she couldn’t read his mind.

Which reminds me, I hated the fact that she referred to it as her disability through most of the book. That just really bugs me! I was so glad that she finally called it her gift by the end of the book. The way she regarded it, she should have been calling it her curse. I hate it when the word disability is used so negatively!

There is just not enough to make me want to read the next book. My only question is what’s up with the Bellefleurs? But I can just look it up on Wikipedia. (I have. It makes sense now.) I did like Bubba. AS I was listening I was going “No! Really?! As in Bubba Ho-Tep Bubba? Awesome!” When that is my favorite part of the book, it’s not worth going on.

______________________________________________

Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris

Rating: 3 stars

WBC: Read a book you first heard about on The Nest Book Club.

Leave a Reply

