German Village 2010

Where I work, we get to take our birthday off as a personal day. I decided to spend mine in German Village. It was founded back in the early 1800s and was added to the National Register of Historic Places back in 1974. I had been wanting to spend the day there and learn more about it. So I went straight to the German Village Meeting Haus to pick up a copy of the walking tour guide. I also stuck around to watch a video about the history of the area. It’s really good.

From there I started through the walking tour. They have three different paths through the village. I took all three over the course of the day. The place just oozes history and community. I didn’t feel like I was just south of downtown Columbus.

 A wrought-iron gate leading into a brick patio between two brick homes.
There were so many sights like this. It makes me want to move right in!
Some of the original cottages in German Village.
There are lots of houses with long histories. So many are the original homes built in the area. Some are the small cottages built by the blue collar of the community.

***

I was supposed to meet a friend for lunch, but he ended up oversleeping, so I had lunch by myself. It was at Schmidt’s Restaurant und Sausage Haus. You may have heard of them if you watch Man v. Food. I had the wonderful Autobahn lunch buffet. All you can eat sausages, bratwurst, saurkraut, and other wonderful, German sides. How can I pass that up? Oh, have I mentioned that half of my ancestors are German? 🙂

Schmidt’s Restaurant und Sausage Haus
Schmidt’s Restaurant und Sausage Haus: the most amazing German food I've had here in the US!

The third tour route ends up at Schiller Park. It’s a beautiful park that’s surrounded by some of the older homes of the village. These homes, however, were built by the rich of the community. In the park are some amazing gardens, beautiful statues, and an outdoor stage where they have Shakespeare in the summer, for free.

Entrance to Schiller Park.
The main entrance to the park.
One of the beautiful gardens.
One of the beautiful gardens that happens to lead up to the statue of Friedrich von Schiller.
One of the many houses around Schiller Park.

It was a wonderful day. I’m thinking of doing it again sometime. I took a ton of pictures, which are over here. I’ll be adding info to the pictures as I remember it. There were so many beautiful places and sights. It was so much fun!

Leave a Reply

