Ode to Hemp Milk

One thing that I have neglected to post about is a major change in my diet. Hemp milk!

After reading an article on Care2.com about it, I figured I’d give it a try. Hemp milk is naturally high in omega-3s and omega-6s. It also isn’t soy, which is in a lot of our food whether we know it or not. So not overdoing it on the soy isn’t a bad thing.

At first I kept a small bottle of milk in the fridge for my husband and in case I needed it for cooking. But after two weeks of not touching it and it going bad, I gave up on the cow’s milk. I love hemp milk! It has a slightly nutty taste to it straight up, but that isn’t noticeable when you add it to things. Well, I do notice it in my oatmeal in the mornings. But that nutty flavor works really well with the oatmeal. I’ve used it multiple times in mac ‘n cheese and I don’t notice the flavor. In fact, the mac ‘n cheese has come out creamier since I’ve started using it.

I don’t miss cow’s milk at all. I thought I would since I used to drink it so much. Last weekend I was up at my in-laws and had a glass of cow’s milk and I didn’t hate it or anything, but I found myself wishing it was hemp. Go give it a try. I use Tempt brand hemp milk, but there are other brands out there. I simply compared labels and chose it over the others available. I honestly can’t remember why. But I’m never going back to cow’s milk! Yay!

Leave a Reply

