Retraining!

I am really proud of myself this week. I’ve been finding interesting ways of making my lunches now that I’m committed to it. Yesterday I was really proud of myself. I had to run to the bank to make my car payment and almost gave in to the idea of getting Wendy’s for lunch. Instead I stopped by and got a sweet tea (what I really wanted) and came back to work and discovered I created a great lunch.

I had thrown some grilled chicken strips, frozen chopped spinach, and sliced mushrooms into the container that morning and topped it off with some shredded mozzarella. It took about 5 minutes in the microwave (2 min, 2 min, 1 min) until it was all done. But it was so worth it! The juices from the spinach and chicken mixed with the cheese to make it a little more saucy than simply melted cheese. It mixed up great! I’m thinking of trying this at home this weekend and adding pasta to it to see how it works out.

Today, mainly due to the mountain of dirty dishes at home, I decided to go out for lunch. My first time this week! I got a BLT Cobb salad from Wendy’s and a sweet tea (I love that stuff). First I had them leave off the blue cheese, it’s too strong for my tastes. Then I set aside the bacon and the chicken so I could dive right into the veggies. I only use one packet of dressing instead of both, I think it would be swimming if I did. I did eat the bacon, but I resisted simply snacking on the chicken because it was there instead of because I wanted it. The retraining is working!!!

Leave a Reply

