Finished! Eragon

Eragon by Christopher PaoliniSynopsis from Goodreads:

When young Eragon finds a polished blue stone in the forest, he thinks it is the lucky discovery of a poor farm boy; perhaps it will buy his adopted family meat for the winter. But when the stone brings a dragon hatchling, Eragon realizes he has stumbled upon a legacy nearly as old as the Empire itself. Overnight his simple life is shattered, and he is thrust into a perilous new world of inescapable destiny, magical forces, and powerful people. With only an ancient sword and the instruction of an old, mysterious, hermit storyteller for guidance, Eragon and the fledgling dragon must navigate the dangerous terrain and dark enemies of an Empire ruled by a Emperor whose evil and power knows no bounds. Can Eragon take up the mantle of the legendary Dragon Riders? The fate of the Empire may rest in his hands….

Review:
Last year I ‘listened’ to Eragon at work. I say ‘listened’ because I tend to zone out and focus on work while ignoring what I’m listening to. Fine for muisc, not so great for audiobooks. So I decided to give it another try this year. I decided to at least start Eragon as an audiobook because Mrs. Dalloway was taking so long. I listened to it only in the car, which allowed me to pay attention to it this time. Once I finished Mrs. Dalloway I continued with the book. It is a really good story. The first time I wasn’t all that impressed with it, but actually paying attention the whole time made a huge difference (and I’ll beat you all to it: well duh!). The way the story goes and many of the characters made me think of Star Wars, but that’s simply because they are working from the same basic story of a boy who becomes a legend. But Eragon has so much more. Angela and Solenbaum are wonderful characters and I hope that they stay with the story. I’m looking forward to learning more about Eragon’s parents, Murtaugh’s mother, Arya, and the world in general. It is a very rich, well created world with lots that we still don’t know about. It’s definitely going to be an interesting ride.

___________________________________________

Eragon by Christopher Paolini
Rating: 4 stars
SuBC: Read a YA book.

Leave a Reply

