Goodbye Gluten!

I read fairly recently somewhere, I can’t remember where, that going gluten-free, even just for a month, can be good for you. One of the main reasons is that many people have a gluten intolerance and don’t know about it. When I found out that Sourdough bread is gluten free, I figured it’d be worth trying. Fermented and sprouted grains and flours are gluten free because the process uses up the gluten.

Evidently there is no conclusive proof one way or another about the oats. Evidently there are gluten-free oat products, but I’m given the impression that doctors don’t completely trust those. There is worry that it gets contaminated while it’s growing or being processed near wheat. But it’s close enough for me. Especially since I don’t really feel like changing up my breakfast right now.

Now I’m not going to go completely gluten-free. I highly doubt my husband would want to substitute his pasta for rice pasta for a month. And I’ve learned not to force anything on him. So dinner will probably have some gluten in it. I’m also not going to go through and scrutinize every single thing that I eat to make sure it’s gluten-free. I really need to eat less fast food anyway, so by packing my lunches I’ll be able to keep them low-gluten if not gluten-free. My breakfast is already low if not free of gluten. I have a glass of kefir, which is gluten free, and my oatmeal with raisins, cinnamon, hemp milk, and honey. All of which, with the possible exception of the oats, are gluten-free.

So starting on Monday, possibly Sunday, I’m going to start my low gluten diet for a month and see how it goes. I’m going to post here hopefully daily about it and see if there are any changes. Well, any changes that I can’t attribute to getting off the fast food. If I’m finding the changes aren’t hurting anything and are easy to keep up, I’ll probably keep going. If any changes can only be attributed to the lack of fast food, I may go back to paying less attention to my gluten intake. Who knows until the end of the month.

2 thoughts on “Goodbye Gluten!

  1. FWIW, the only difference I notice between rice pasta & wheat-based pasta is the price tag. The brown rice pasta needs a good hot water rinse to keep it from becoming a huge starchy mass but the flavor and mouth feel are no different than regular pasta. I find that it digests easier, too- no blood sugar spike like wheat based pasta does to both me and DH. If you didn’t mention the experiment, I’d be willing to bet yours would never notice the difference.

    1. Unfortunately DH is really sensitive to textures. I’ve made wheat alone and mixed with regular, didn’t say a word either time, and he hated it both times. I just make it separately for myself if I really want it.

Leave a Reply

