Baby steps

Sorry it’s been so long since the last post. Time just keeps getting away from me and if I were to write up posts to post when I got home, I’d forget they were there and they’d just pile up. I’ve tried it before. Also, when I rearranged things last week, the keyboard decided to stop working. Everything’s good now, but it was annoying! I am going to try to post at least once a week.

My attempt at October Unprocessed didn’t go too well. While my intake of unprocessed foods did increase, it wasn’t by much. But some good did come out of it. Despite my slips and eating fast food, it helped me to take a step back and really look at what I was eating. I realized that I need to take small steps to get myself back on the healthy eating track. I figure what I will do is to set one small goal for the week. If I managed to stick to that rule for the week, then I’ll add another one.

For this week my goal is to eat no fast food. I will eat no food from a fast food restaurant starting this week. I do have two small exceptions. I’m not even sure how much of an exception the first is. Every Sunday after Mass I head over to a little place called Pochi Tea Station to get bubble tea for my hubby and myself. It probably does qualify as a fast food restaurant. But it is tea, and it’s become a tradition for us. I just can’t cut that out.
The second is that if my hubby really, really wants to go get dinner from somewhere, I’m not going to argue. We don’t share the same views on food, and I’ve accepted that and it’s not a good thing to force someone into something they don’t want to do. Luckily he does, usually, prefer to eat dinner at home. So I doubt that will come up all that much.

I’ve bought soups for lunch this week. I’ve got crackers and rolls to go with them. I’m going to hard boil some eggs tonight. With all of that, I should be able to avoid the temptation of fast food this week. The hardest thing is going to be resisting that sweet tea from Wendy’s. I really think if I can do that for a week, I’ll be off to a good start.

Leave a Reply

