21 days

I remember hearing or reading somewhere that it takes 21 days to form a habit. This was established by some psychologist whose name I can’t remember. But while trying to make sure I had remembered correctly I ran across this article. It says that while it might take 21 days to get a habit going, 66 days is how long it takes for a habit to really form and stick.

You might be wondering why I’m telling you all of this. I figure if I’m trying to establish good habits in my life again, having a good idea of how long it might take for it to form and stick wouldn’t be a bad idea. I was thinking of using the 21 days as a point to go ahead and start working on another. While 66 days is wonderful and very doable, it’s a long time to wait. So what I’m going to do is use the 21 day mark to look and see if I’ve managed so far. If I have stuck to it, then I’ll keep working on it, but I’ll start working on an additional one. I like to think that I can handle working on multiple habits at one time. Especially if they’re related.

Today was another great day. One thing that might be contributing to my feeling awesome is, strangely enough, the lack of meat in my lunches. Since I got my soups from Whole Foods, the only soup that has meat in it is the chicken noodle. The rest are vegetarian or vegan. I don’t think that I could ever go vegetarian. But this reminds me and my body that it’s not a bad thing to go with less meat. But that’s a ramble for another time. 😉

Leave a Reply

