3 weeks down!

Wow, the week really got away from me! I did allow some exceptions to the rule this week. I it was Wednesday. I did not have enough time to make and eat breakfast, pack my lunch, and get to work on time. There’s road work just up from my exit and it’s slowing my way into work. So if I don’t get my lunch ready the night before, I run the risk of being late. So I threw together a few leftovers and went to work. As I was packing them my mind was relaying messages from my guts that it wasn’t a good idea to pack that. That I wouldn’t want to eat it when lunch rolled around. But I was determined to stick to not eating out. Well, I got an ‘I told you so’ about half an hour before lunch. I gave in. I ordered Chipotle. At least it was Chipotle.

Then on Thursday my hubby texted me about doing dinner and a movie that night. I suggested Chipotle for dinner since I had a buy-one get-one free coupon from giving blood. At least this time it was his idea, so I didn’t feel so bad. Also, I made a wonderful discovery. I don’t know how many places are doing it, but the one by us now has brown rice as well as white! I liked it. It’s going to take a little getting used to since brown tastes different and has a different texture than white. But it was wonderful!

Other than that I’ve been fast food free! In the last few days thoughts of stopping and getting something from Taco Bell or Wendy’s has crept into my mind. But I squish them like little bugs and don’t let them take root. Since I think I have a good grip on that, I’m going to start working on building up another good habit. Drinking enough water. I have two 27 oz. Klean Kanteens that I take to work with me. Since I started bringing 16 oz. of Oolong in the mornings with me, I noticed I wasn’t drinking as much water. What’s worse is I was ignoring my thirst and not drinking. So I am going to be more mindful of my water intake and make sure to get both Kanteens finished before leaving for the day.

Here we go!

One thought on “3 weeks down!

  1. Ooh, I know how this goes.

    Before starting school, back when the fiance had a relatively well paying job, we ate out all. the. time. It was getting to a point where we ate out about three times more than we had something to eat at home. Starting college and subsisting on student loans was a bit of a slap to the face.

    We’ve gotten a lot better over the past few months, and I’d say that about 80% of our meals are home-cooked. There have been some slip-ups, mostly when we’ve been too swamped with schoolwork and class to make lunches in the morning, or when I just haven’t felt like cooking. And once the threshold has been crossed again it is hard to go back. We had Taco Bell for lunch when we were very busy last week, and I instantly lost my mojo for cooking, trying to convince myself that I could just pick something up instead. Finding meals that are fun and easy to make helps, though.

Leave a Reply

