New Year, new ideas

While getting caught up on my Bonzai Aphrodite reading, I had a couple of thoughts.

Lately I’ve been trying to eat healthier for lunch.  I took an example from my hubby and started packing salads.  Unfortunately it’s not working out so well.  I attribute it to the fact that he had it easier than I did.  He used to buy pre-packaged salads that came with everything: dressing, cheese, meat, even a fork!  But being the food conscious person that I am, that’s not an option.  So I went out and bought some Ziplock containers and organic greens and made up salads for lunch.

The real problem became having enough to go with it.  I make simple salads for myself.  Greens and feta cheese crumbles topped with olive oil and lemon juice.  So I was getting precooked chicken strips to have with them.  But they’re quite processed and I haven’t found a simple replacement that I can afford.  It can be hard to be green on a budget.

Anyway, while I was reading Sayward’s awesome writings, I thought about and like the idea of reviving the meatless.  Instead of doing it on Thursdays, it will be on Mondays, keeping with the movement.  I don’t know if it’ll expand to include dinner, but it will definitely be lunch.
The other thought that hit me, since I’m a sucker for alliteration, is to do Fermented Fridays.  I’m not completely sure how this’ll play out, but I’m thinking of trying to incorporate at least one fermented food into my lunch each Friday.  Hopefully I’ll be trying out new ones.

Obviously both of these will be posted about every week!  Yay!  I’m hoping to find the inspiration to post more here this year.  I may have hit a limit on incorporating more green products and techniques into my life, but my diet could really use more.  So there may be a lot more food posts than before, but I’m good with that.  Here’s to a new, exciting year!

2 thoughts on “New Year, new ideas

  1. I’m glad to hear you set the standards high this year; I think we all need positive goals to set for the next year and on as well. As long as you got a list together then you’re already on the right track.Hope you had a great new year’s day and I look forward to reading more:))

    jonwatersauthor.wordpress.com

  2. We’ve taken salads to work maybe 1/week for the past month or so. What helped was saving the salad containers from places like Potbelly and McDonald’s (yes, I know). Those provided us with perfect re-usable salad containers, and the Potbelly ones even came with little dressing containers.

    The night before, I’d separate out the lettuce into the salad bowls, and then usually add things like cheese, meat, veggies in a separate container.

    Would a hard boiled egg, cut up, perhaps work as protein and something to keep you full for your lunch salad? Another option is to cook chicken/beef/pork one night and use the cut up left overs for your salads.

Leave a Reply

