Geek

Yesterday a friend accused me of misusing the word “geek”, so I decided to do a little work.

Check out Wikipedia for all the juicy details, but it proved me right!

A person with a devotion to something in a way that places him or her outside the mainstream. This could be due to the intensity, depth, or subject of their interest. This definition is very broad but because many of these interests have mainstream endorsement and acceptance, the inclusion of some genres as “geeky” is heavily debated. Persons have been labeled as or chosen to identify as physics geeks, mathematics geeks, engineering geeks, sci-fi geeks, computer geeks, various science geeks, movie and film geeks (cinephile), comic book geeks, theater geeks, history geeks, music geeks, sport geeks, art geeks, philosophy geeks, literature geeks, historical reenactment geeks, video game geeks, and roleplay geeks.

This is how I use the word. The ones in bold are ones I associate with myself. I guess it just really bugged me after writing that post yesterday about using words accurately.

😉

Leave a Reply

