I’ve been bitten…

by the Kindle bug.

When they first came out, I was very wary of them because I didn’t want them to last. I was worried that if they did, it would be the end of physical books. But as the years have gone by, I’ve realized that physical books will never die. They may become more rare, but they’ll never die. Heck in both Doctor Who and Star Trek they still have books.

But then I put together an Arthur Dent cosplay. I had everything: pyjamas, slippers, dressing gown, towel. Everything but The Guide. I thought about getting an old/used PDA and downloading Wikipedia onto it. But that takes a lot of work. Then I started to consider the Kindle. It’s about the right size. It already has a keyboard. It could even prove to be very useful when I eventually get into grad school. It would be easier to have all my books on that rather than lug them around. And it would be cheaper. I could always buy any physical books I need later. And I can put all the .pdfs from the instructors on it.

So this Christmas I ended up with enough to buy one. Since I didn’t want all the “special screensavers” and didn’t care about 3G access, I bought a used one. I also got a case for it that was under $2.

The only books I ever plan on buying for it are ones that are only available as e-books. Like the two novellas by Mira Grant, one of which is a prequel to Feed. Right now I’ve loaded a ton of free classics on it and am reading Nerd Do Well from the library.

I think it’s possible to have a world where e-readers and books can live in harmony. Don’t you?

One thought on “I’ve been bitten…

Leave a Reply

