Tea bliss

I am sitting here, at my wonderful new desk, with Chopped in the background and my third cup of tea of the day cooling. I just have this overwhelming feeling of contentment and happiness. I can’t remember the last time I had this feeling. It’s not like I’ve done anything major today. But I have relaxed. Maybe that’s it. The tea is probably helping.

tea mug
I love my tea mug!

I have to agree with The Doctor and Arthur Dent, tea is the most wonderful drink ever! I remember reading on The English Tea Store about how drinking tea is actually better for you than drinking water. Tea and water have the same hydrating effect and the same calorie content (zero). But tea has so much more. There’s the flavor, the antioxidants, the tannin. Thanks to The Doctor I will never forget about the tannin. 😉 There are studies saying that tea can help prevent all sorts of things including a number of cancers and even possibly Alzheimer’s Disease. For someone who has a family history of heart problems on one side, Alzheimer’s on the other, and cancers all around, I’m all for anything that can help prevent them. Just three cups of tea a day, any tea, can provide you with more than enough antioxidants. And drinking a variety of teas doesn’t hurt either since each one is different from the other and provides different antioxidants.

That’s why this wonderful cup of Allegro Oolong was preceded by PG tips and Tazo Zen. If I’m up for it, I’ll probably follow it up with Twinnings Earl Grey.

So now I’m going to sit back, enjoy my tea, and read some more of The Yiddish Policeman’s Union. Yay!

Leave a Reply

