Tuna Noodle with a twist

Tonight I finally got around to making what’s been on my brain lately. Tuna Noodle Casserole. But with a bit of a twist!

Tuna Noodle Casserole
4c Egg Noodles
1 can Cream of Mushroom soup, condensed
Milk or milk substitute
1/4c sour cream
Salt and pepper to taste
Herbs and spices to taste
2 cans Tuna
Butter
Crackers

First, set the oven to 350 and let it preheat. Next, get your egg noodles cooking. Get them at least al dente before draining them. While they’re cooking, you can get the sauce ready. Dump the can of soup into a bowl and wisk it. That gets it smoothed out. Add 1/4 of the can of your milk. I used hemp milk. Wisk it in. Once that’s in, start adding the sour cream. I added it as a thickener and sort of eyeballed it. It really did help to smooth out the soup without watering it down. Add your salt and pepper and whatever else and wisk. I like a lot of pepper in my tuna noodle casserole. I decided to also add some oregano and cayenne pepper. Not doing the cayenne again; it sort of took over. Once the noodles are ready, drain them and add them to the sauce. Fold them in so the noodles are well coated. Now you add the tuna. I used two cans so there was plenty of tuna in it. Fold it in so it’s well distributed.

Now get out your dish and butter the inside. Just run the stick around all the surfaces and it’ll be nice and coated. Add the mixture to the dish and make sure it’s in there compactly. I used a smaller round dish that was just big enough, 1-1/2 qts. Put the lid on and let it bake for 35 minutes. While it’s baking, crush up some crackers to sprinkle on top. I used Ritz since it’s what we had. I crushed them using the rolling pin and it worked really, really well! Sprinkle the cracker crumbs on top and return to the oven, uncovered for ten more minutes.

The result?

The most amazing tuna noodle casserole I have ever made. Well, aside from the cayenne. It was so creamy and delicious! Thanks to the butter it came away from the sides with no problems. It was a little crunch on the sides, but I loved it. I think if I leave out the cayenne next time it will be perfect! So much better than any of my previous attempts at making it.

I hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

