Kale crush

In case you haven’t noticed, I love the blog Peas and Crayons. Recently she posted an awesome recipe for Garlicky Kale Salad with Smoky Chipotle. I may have had kale once before seeing that recipe, but I keep reading amazing things about kale, so I thought it’d give it a try. Before trying the recipe, I bought some kale salad from Whole Foods’ salad bar. OMG. That was an amazing salad. That made me determined to try the recipe.

When we went grocery shopping on that Sunday, I picked up some olive oil and Kale. I figured I’d leave it at just the dressing and the kale since I wanted to get my hubby to try. Aside from using baby kale instead of regular kale, I made one other change: dried minced garlic. I was lazy. I really have to be in the mood to work with fresh garlic. It wasn’t bad. I sort of eyeballed the measurements. Hubby didn’t like the dressing, but he was willing to give the kale another try.

Saturday I picked up two nice bunches of kale, tomatoes, and cucumber. One bunch of kale provided more than enough for me to make 5 good sized salads for the week. I actually measured out the ingredients this time and it tasted so much better! Also, the addition of the tomatoes and cucumber really add to the flavor. These salads probably have my full serving of veggies for one day. I have some diced baby beets to accompany whatever I get for lunch and my kale salads for dinner at school. Yesterday and today I just added them to dinner at home. I am loving all these veggies every day. I am feeling so much better. I just hope I can keep it up. I need to find more kale salad recipes!

Leave a Reply

