Would you?

Last night in class we were working on the various ways of relaying facts. One of the ways is the use of percentages. One sentence he had for us to practice with involved the amount of people who said that if they were given the chance to “do it all again” they would pick a different career. He asked us if we would. It really got me thinking.

Unlike most of my classmates, I probably wouldn’t change.

Trust me, that thought surprised even me. But I looked at it in a deeper way. It’s probably due to all the sci-fi I like to watch.

If I had worked hard and gotten into grad school back when I was just finishing up my BA, I would be a very different person right now. It’s possible I would still have gone to CSCC for at least ASL classes, but I probably wouldn’t have had the same teachers. I wouldn’t have had the same experiences with the same people. I probably would have simply let getting into Gallaudet remain a dream. I’d be a speech therapist at a school or Nationwide Children’s Hospital. I’d probably be struggling with my own views of d/Deafness and how to work with that as a speech therapist.

So yeah, while I do not enjoy my job, I am actually happy where I am in my life. I’ve been able to get to a point where I can follow both a dream (attending Gallaudet) and desire (studying Linguistics) I’ve had since my days as an undergrad. I love my friends, family, community, and church. Do I wish I was making more money? Doesn’t everyone?

It’s entirely possible there’s an alternate me existing in an alternate timeline who did get into grad school straight out of college. It’s entirely possible she’s happy. But knowing how I feel now, I would not make that choice. I’m happy with who I am and where I am right now, and that’s what’s important.

Leave a Reply

